image 16 01

about us


Restoration of the remaining buildings are nearing completion and curating/landscaping have become the new focus. With over 15 faithfully restored buildings and countless artifacts, the town provides a glimpse of the mining culture and lifestyle in the American Southwest in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Visitors are invited to explore the heart of the once-booming mining town. Please visit the information page for more details about the tour.

Construction began in 1884 on this stone, adobe, metal and concrete two story lab, utilized to assay ore samples and produce Doré bars (semi-pure alloy of gold and silver). The building housed a bullion room, guards quarters, an office and a company store. 

about us 1

The furnace room, assay building, 1913 The furnace room, assay building, 2015

about us 2

West Side View of Assay House 2016 &
East Side View of Assay House September 2017 (post roof and selective wall maintenance)

about us 3

East side view today.

the cookhouse

Constructed in the 1890’s, the Cookhouse mess hall and saloon were made from wood, rock, and adobe, which does not do well in the rain. The roof collapsed during a seasonal storm. The kitchen was constructed in the early 1900s from wood and concrete. A seventeenth century stove, large ice box and other fascinating artifacts remain.

about us 4

The Cookhouse pre-renovation

about us 5


This ironwood tree (olneya tesota), was determined to be two-three hundred years old and in good health after a horticultural evaluation. The legend holds that 18 men met their fate on the branches of this tree, hung for high grading (the theft of rich gold ore) and other crimes.

Henry Wickenburg’s 15 x 20 foot cabin, built in the summer of 1864, was constructed with stone and adobe and has been faithfully restored.

about us 7

Hanging Tree and Henry Wickenburg Cabin 2016

about us 8

Hanging Tree and Henry Wickenburg’s Cabin 2019

Skip to content